Join us for a relaxing afternoon at the North Star House on Sunday, July 10, 4-6 p.m. There will be guides in the house and garden, a band, a photo booth, and food and drink will be available. Free entry.
We also want to share with you our recently installed facilities Viewing Julia Morgan to honor the incredible architect who designed this historic home.
Julia Morgan was the first woman to graduate from the Ecole des Beaux-Arts in Paris, in 1902. At the time, it was the most prestigious school of architecture in the world. She was also the first licensed female architect in California and went on to design over 800 unique buildings, in a wide range of styles. She is best known for Hearst Castle and Asilomar, but that’s only a small part of her legacy.
The North Star House, built in 1905, was Julia’s first major commission. It is listed on the National Register of Historic Places and is recognized as an excellent example of the Arts & Crafts style, which was popular in the Bay Area at that time.
James Hague, owner of the North Star mine, had the house built because the North Star mine was working well and he wanted a house large enough to accommodate visiting dignitaries, investors, mine owners and engineers. (Mr. Hague lived in New York City.) The 10,000 square foot home became the family home of Arthur D. and Mary Hallock Foote, then the next generation of the Foote family. The Footes were cultured and educated people who enjoyed entertaining guests.
The North Star Historic Conservancy, a 50(c)(3) non-profit organization, is restoring the house and grounds after they were badly damaged by vandals and weather when they had stood empty for over 20 years old. We want this historic home to represent the area’s gold mining history while providing a beautiful and versatile venue for public and private events.