General Convention elects Episcopalians to committees, other positions – Episcopal News Service


[Episcopal News Service – Baltimore, Maryland] Each General Convention meeting includes the election of clergy and lay Episcopalians to serve as leaders in a variety of governance groups.

The House of Representatives re-elected the Reverend Michael Barlowe as convention secretary. The House of Bishops and House of Representatives re-elected Kurt Barnes as convention treasurer. Barlowe is also the convention’s general manager and Barnes is the church’s chief financial officer.

Here are the other election results so far.

House of Bishops

Court of Review for Bishops: New Hampshire Bishop A. Robert Hirschfeld, Georgia Bishop Frank Logue, West Tennessee Bishop Phoebe Roaf and Texas Bishop Suffragan Kai Ryan

Disciplinary Board for Bishops: Bishop of Southern Virginia Susan Haynes, Bishop of Rio Grande Michael Hunn, Bishop of Rhode Island Nicholas Knisely, Bishop of Washington Chilton Knudsen and Bishop of Bethlehem Kevin Nichols

Executive Council: Bishop of Missouri Deon Johnson and Bishop of Puerto Rico Rafael Morales

General Board of Chaplain Examiners (Lay): Martha Alexander (North Carolina), L. Zoe Cole (Colorado), Peter Williams (Western North Carolina)

General Board of Chaplain Examiners (Clergy): Reverend Michael Bamberger (Los Angeles), Reverend Christopher Corbin (South Dakota) and Reverend Rhonda Lee (North Carolina)

General Board of Chaplain Examiners (Faculty): Hugh Page Jr. (Northern Indiana), Rev. Carla Roland Guzmán (New York), and Rev. Andrew Wright (Newark)

General Board of Chaplain Examiners (Bishops): Connecticut Bishop Laura Ahrens and Long Island Bishop R. William Franklin

Full House of Bishops election results are here.

House of Representatives

It was a long morning of voting with the Reverend Nina Ranadive Pooley, voting clerk, leading MPs through what she and Reverend Gay Clark Jennings called “voting camp”. Ranadive Pooley first led MPs in some trial votes so they could get used to the system. Among other trial votes, MPs voted in favor of ice cream. To practice electing a number of candidates from a longer list, they also elected five animals to head for Noah’s Ark, leaving eight behind. Pandas, bears, elephants, buffaloes and moose avoided the deluge. Alligators, armadillos, coyotes, crabs, huskies, puffins, lions and walruses did not.

Here are the results of the real elections.

Trustees of the Church Pension Fund: Bishop of Puerto Rico David Alvarez, Reverend Brendan Barnicle (Oregon), Reverend Gawain de Leeuw (New York), Bishop of Connecticut Ian Doulas, Reverend Amy Haynie ( North Texas), Reverend Cynthia Kittredge (Texas), John McCray-Goldsmith (El Camino Real), Sandra McPhee (Chicago), Alabama Assisting Bishop Brian Prior, Olympia Bishop Greg Rickel, Anne Vickers (Southwest Florida), and Reverend Sandye Wilson (Maryland)

Court of Review for Clergy Discipline (Layman): Julian Bivins Jr. (Virginia), L. Zoe Cole (Colorado), Delbert Glover (New York), Julie Larsen (Los Angeles), Grecia Reynoso (Dominican Republic), Brunilda Rodriguez-Velez (Puerto Rico) and Laura Russell (Newark)

Executive Council (lay): Dianne Audrick Smith (Ohio), Annette Buchanan (New Jersey), Scott Haight (West Tennessee), Joe McDaniel Jr. (Central Gulf Coast), Sandra Montes (Texas) and Tivaun Cooper (New York)

Executive Council (Clergy): Reverend Charles Graves (Texas) and Reverend Deborah Jackson (Florida)

Trustee of General Theological Seminary (lay): Michael Braxton (Pittsburgh) and Noreen Duncan (New Jersey)

General Theological Seminary Trustee (Clergy): Rev. T. James Kodera (Massachusetts) and Rev. Richard Norman Jr. (Southwest Florida)

All the results of the elections to the Chamber of Deputies are here.

ENS coverage of Julia Ayala Harris’s election as Speaker of the House of Representatives is here.


Comments are closed.