Emergency loans available for local farmers affected by drought conditions – Southwest Arkansas Radio


The US Department of Agriculture has made Arkansas farmers and ranchers in a number of counties eligible for emergency loans under a declaration of drought.

The major eligible counties in southwestern Arkansas are Sevier, Little River, Hempstead, and Nevada counties. A total of 20 counties in Arkansas are eligible for emergency federal loans under the declaration of drought disaster. Additionally, 11 neighboring counties are also eligible, including Howard, Polk and Pike.

The emergency loan program is triggered when a natural disaster is designated by the Secretary of Agriculture or a natural disaster or emergency is declared by the President under the Stafford Act. These loans assist producers who experience eligible agricultural losses directly caused by the disaster in a county declared or designated as a primary disaster or quarantine area. In addition, farmers located in counties contiguous to the declared, designated or quarantined area are eligible for emergency loans.

The deadline to apply for an emergency loan is December 8.

For more information and application forms, visit the agricultural service agency’s website at www.fsa.usda.gov or contact your nearest agricultural service agency. Residents of Sevier and Polk counties can call the De Queen-based Agricultural Service Agency at (870) 584-3111. Residents of Little River and Howard counties can call the Texarkana-based Farm Service Agency at (870) 330-3134.


Comments are closed.