ANA Hosts 41st Convention, Grants Fellowship to Asein, Otiono and Others – Guardian Arts – The Guardian Nigeria News – Nigeria and World News


It promises to be a literary fireworks display as scholars, writers, authors, literature enthusiasts, critics and scholars from around the world converge on the state-of-the-art Mamman Vatsa Writers Village, Mpape Abuja for the 41st International Convention of the Association of Nigerian Authors (ANA).

With the theme: “Literature and National Consciousness – History as Catalyst”, the Vice-Chancellor of the University of Abuja, Prof. Abdul Rasheed Na’Allah, is expected to deliver the keynote address.

ANA President Camillus Ukah revealed that the event, scheduled for October 26-29, 2022, will be memorable and leave an indelible mark on the minds of guests.

Passionate about the topic, Ukah assured that Professor Na’Allah already knows some of the important points that he hopes to convey to the participants.

“This will be ANA’s biggest annual convention,” he said.

He added that scholarships would also be awarded to notable and distinguished Nigerians like the Director General of the Nigerian Copyright Commission (NCC), Dr. John Asein.

He further revealed that “the event will include the commissioning of the first ANA hotel/apartment spot.”

Named after some notable writers in Nigeria, the hotels show a place built to provide guests and writers with ample space to relax and reflect in a serene and unparalleled ambience.

Speaking on the scholarship, ANA Secretary General Maik Ortserga said the association considers it a rare privilege to count with the enormous investment, participation and outstanding contributions of applicants to the growth of the literature over the years.

He revealed: “We published the list after a thorough evaluation by a committee set up for this purpose. The names are as follows: Prof. Abdul Rasheed Na’Alla, Prof. Anaezi Okoro, Prof. Moses Tsenongu, Prof. Razinat Mohammed, Prof. Udenta O Udenta, Engr. Emmanuel Frank-Opigo, Dr Emmanuel CS Ojukwu (CP Rtd.), Miesoinuma Minima JP Senibo, Prof. Nduka Otiono, Prof. Vicky Sylvester, Lindsay Barrett.

Others include: Prof. Tess Onwueme, Prof. Yusuf Adamu, Dr Tony Marinho, Prof. Mark Nwagwu, Prof. Dul Johnson, Prof. Amanze Akpuda, Prof. Francis Oisaghaede Egbokhare, Prof. Ademola Dasylva and Prof. Olabanji Fashina

Honorary Fellows are Prof. Chidi Osuagwu, Dr. John Asein, Dr. Zainab T. Ahmed, and Engineer. Abubakar Maigandi

He said he hoped candidates would accept their nominations in good faith and continue to render the selfless service that is the basis of Fellowship nomination.

The library will also be put into operation. This is in addition to a guided tour of Abuja City and the Writers’ Village. This will allow writers, visitors and guests from all over the world to experience the unique atmosphere and landscape of one of the greatest writers. Meanwhile, three presidential aspirants – Alhaji Atiku Abubakar of PDP, Senator Bola Ahmed Tinubu of APC and Labor Party’s Peter Obi were invited by ANA as a special guest.

The invitation signed by the president and the secretary of the association stipulated: “We also ask you, when you come, to address us the theme of “creativity in a policy in difficulty: expectations, constraints and imperatives”.

According to the organizers, the Abuja convention “is undoubtedly another great opportunity to showcase Nigerian literature as an unmistakable testament to continental leadership and the greatness of our country.”


Comments are closed.